Vidalia Onion Chicken Thighs Recipe

A healthier option for your family dinner, this freezer meal recipe for Vidalia Onion Chicken Thighs is delicious!
4.85714285714286 star
  1. 1 star
  2. 2 star
  3. 3 star
  4. 4 star
  5. 5 star
(35)
  • Ready in: 40 minutes
  • Prep time: 10 minutes
  • Chill/Cook time: 30 minutes
  • By:
  • Servings: 6

print recipe

ingredients

cooking methods

  • Grill
  • Stovetop

directions

  1. Combine chicken, ½ cup Vidalia Onion Dressing and Seasoned Salt in a gallon freezer bag. Seal well. Refrigerate 2 hours or up to overnight.
  2. Prepare grill to medium heat. Remove chicken from marinade. Discard bag with marinade. Place chicken on grill. Grill, turning once, until internal temperature reaches 165°F on an instant-read food thermometer.
  3. Serve chicken over cooked brown rice with prepared green beans. Drizzle with remaining ¼ cup Vidalia Onion Dressing and sprinkle with almonds.
Makes 6 servings.

Make Ahead & Freeze: Prepare step 1. Seal well, label and freeze. Thaw completely. Continue with step 2.

Nutrition per Serving:
Calories
: 460 Total Fat: 18g Sat. Fat: 3g Cholest: 140mg Sodium: 650mg Carbs: 38g Fiber: 3g Sugar: 15g Protein: 33g

have a delicious recipe to share?

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and delicious We eat a lot of chicken at our house so it is always nice to find ways to mix it up with different flavors. This was tasty and moist and everyone in the house loved it. We paired it with rice and Everyday Green Beans - best meal of the week hands down! I even had leftovers that I added to a salad the next day and it was delicious!
Date published: 2015-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and delicious The Vidalia onion dressing has become our favorite - on everything. The chicken thighs and green beans tasted fantastic.
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Chicken! I used chicken breasts instead of chicken thighs and this turned out so delicious! They were extremely tender and juicy. Everyone loved them!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe! This was super easy to make and it turned out great! Even my hard to please boys loved this!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and Delicious! Super simple and tastes great! We used chicken breasts and they were super moist. Yum!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very moist chicken! I made the Vidalia onion chicken with breasts instead of thighs and was great. Easy to add flavor to chicken on the grill!
Date published: 2015-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vidalia onion Chicken thighs fabulous, very good, would recommend this to everyone
Date published: 2015-08-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tasty We made the chicken using chicken breast, very good, tender, used the slow cooker.
Date published: 2015-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Flavorful Family LOVED it! I would definitely make this again!
Date published: 2015-08-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tasty Dinner I put this dish together and my husband was quite impressed with the presentation - and it was SO EASY ... and delicious of course.
Date published: 2015-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this dressing The Vidalia Onion dressing never disappoints. Mixed with a bit of ultimate steak seasoning, it makes a delicious marinade/sauce for grilling. Very easy, yummy recipe.
Date published: 2015-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tender and tasty! I made this recipe with chicken breasts and cooked in a George Foreman grill. I marinated the chicken all day in the refrigerator. It was so juicy and tasty. Will definitely make again!
Date published: 2015-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great new favorite! I usually eat chicken breasts so I was a bit skeptical to try this recipe but I was delighted with the flavor and the tenderness of the chicken. I substituted black rice for the brown rice and it was delicious!
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Chicken in a snap! Super simple! I marinated the chicken the night before, when I got home from work late...no big deal, I was eating within 20 minutes, which included prepping and making a side dish. I did substitute chicken breast for thighs, because I had them on hand.
Date published: 2015-07-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy and delicious chicken The whole meal was delcious and easy to prepare the family really liked it.
Date published: 2015-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Easy Meal I made this using boneless, skinless chicken breasts instead of thighs. For the side dish, I made the Everyday Green Beans. This is a quick meal that made everyone happy!
Date published: 2015-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from YUM This will be a go to recipe! Chicken was moist and flavorful. Kids also liked it!
Date published: 2015-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family favorite! Easy way to improve your chicken! My family loves this recipe
Date published: 2015-07-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic flavor in this easy dish! My family loved this recipe! What a great way to season chicken thighs with these 2 fabulous products!! I know it's a hit when my boys say, "this is a keeper"!
Date published: 2015-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! The flavor is amazing and it's so tender. And it is easy!
Date published: 2015-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome quick meal! My wife and I made this, and decided to substitute the chicken, with Salmon just because that was what we had at home to cook that night! It was excellent! Without this recipe, I wouldn't have found a new way to enjoy salmon, as well as my whole family enjoying salmon as much as my wife and I!
Date published: 2015-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Vidalia Onion Dressing on the Chicken The chicken was so juicy and flavorful with the Vidalia Onion Dressing. I love the Vidalia Onion Dressing so much I even drizzled it over my green beans.
Date published: 2015-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Easy, Fantastic Flavor We made this as a freezer meal, and it could not have been easier. We used chicken breasts cut in half instead of thighs, and the chicken was tender and very flavorful. After taking off the grill, we drizzled with more Vidalia Onion dressing, and even used more for dipping; absolutely delicious. This is a must-try recipe, and was a huge hit with my whole family (kids included!) Will definitely make again! We didn't have any rice or green beans, so used buttered noodles and mixed vegetables instead - still great! I can't wait to try it with thighs next time - will probably be even MORE tender!
Date published: 2015-07-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Move over chicken nuggets! I made this into a freezer meal on the weekend and then popped it on the grill later in the week. The chicken was moist and tender, so much more so than just your ordinary chicken on the grill. And my son, whose dinner staple is chicken nuggets gobbled the whole thing up.....which is a win in my book for sure!
Date published: 2015-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tastiest Marinade and Sauce This dressing made an excellent marinade that kept the chicken moist and tender while grilling. This will be one of my go to dressings for its delicious flavor and multiple uses!
Date published: 2015-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Vidalia Onion Chicken Thighs This is my utmost favorite Tastefully Simple sauce! I made this recipe during a freezer meal workshop. It was delicious on the grill. My kids raved about it! I have made it with chicken breasts and it is just as delicious. You have to try the Vidalia Onion Sauce!
Date published: 2015-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great flavor from the grill! This freezer meal could not have been easier, and it was a quick, easy, delicious meal hot off the grill. My family always enjoys Vidalia Onion Dressing on chicken, and the Ultimate Steak Seasoning added a nice boost to the meal.
Date published: 2015-03-17
  • y_2019, m_10, d_15, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_cf511d49f48647fcae2f09714022b534, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_tastefullysimple
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 297ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT